I first got interested In the automotive industry when I was 11 years old. When I was 11 me and my dad made a deal, The deal was however much money I had when I was ready to buy a car he would match. This deal got me interested in cars because I knew if I worked hard some day I could have a nice one. A couple months after this deal was made I started watching the mecum auto auction which is the biggest American muscle car auction in American. I also started searching Craigslist and carsonline.com which is the biggest site for classic cars. Along with looking at what I could eventually have I knew I needed one thing and that was money. Now I was 11 looking to buy a car so I needed to come up with a way to make some so I decided to go around the neighborhood and ask my neighbors if they would like me to take in their barrels every single Monday for $2 a house. I ended up getting seven people to agree to this so I was making and saving $14 a week for 52 weeks, that equals $350 a year and I was 11 so I didn't spend any of it and also I was able to get my 7 customers to agree to let me shovel for them so they gave me a lot more money during the big snow storms. I was able to keep this up for 3 years until I was 14. Once I turned 14 I got a job at Kens Flowers down the street from my house and was able to make a lot of money and I was able to save a lot as well. Throughout all this I never stop learning as much as I could about cars. But it wasn't until I actually bought my 1991 Camaro z28 that I figured out I had to learn to fix it myself and that was a career path I want to take. I found out that I needed to learn to fix myself because I had spent a lot of money on the car itself. I knew I needed to learn to fix my own car so I took the automotive program in school and I started reading a lot about my personal car online and what I can do in certain situations and what needed to be done. At this point I knew that I wanted to be a mechanic but not only a mechanic I want to own my own garage and be the boss. I want to know everything I can but have other people doing the work for me well I make the big bucks. My dad was the one who really got me interested in cars if it wasn't for him I probably wouldn't be doing this program, I probably wouldn't have the car I have now, I probably wouldn't have learned the value of a dollar, and I probably would have the work ethic I have today.



Leave a Reply.